April 13, 2016 Moultonborough Heritage Commission

Moultonborough Town Hall

Present: Ashjian, Charest, Larson Excused: Beadle

Chair Cristina Ashjian called the meeting to order at 5:30 PM, and the Minutes of the March 1, 2016 meeting were approved without changes. It was agreed that Cristina would continue as Chair and Jean as Secretary; Norman was congratulated for his election to the Planning Board.

The Commission then reviewed and discussed the RSA 79-D barn easement renewal application for the Tocco family. Since the deadline for the applications is April 15th, the Commission will finalize the recommendation and review any other applications that are submitted to the Town at its May meeting, and ask the Board of Selectmen to hold a hearing in mid to late May.

The Commission heard brief updates about the work of the Master Plan Steering Committee and the Planner Search Committee effort. The Commission then reviewed the status of historic village buildings, including the former Village School (now the Methodist Church 'Annex'), the Taylor House, the Moultonborough Grange Hall, the former Country Fare Inn, and the Moultonborough Town House and Middle Neck School. Cristina will contact TA Walter Johnson to organize May inspections of the town-owned historic buildings.

Cristina distributed draft copies of a 2016 Work Plan, and it was agreed that the Commission would update and finalize the plan at the May meeting when Jean can participate. Finally, the Commission prepared a letter of support for the Moose Plate grant application for the Center Harbor Town House, as requested by the Center Harbor Heritage Commission.

Upcoming events of interest were noted: Historic New England's session on' Leading Locally: Preservation Management Strategies' on May 6th and the NHPA Preservation Awards in Concord on May 10th (the Commission received a Preservation Achievement Award in 2011).

The next HC meeting will be at 5:30 on May 11th, 2016.

Motion: Ed moved to adjourn at 6:15 PM; Norman seconded. Motion carried – unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Cristina Ashjian, Chair, Heritage Commission